Four Circles for Four Quadrants

Four Levels of
Adoption Awareness

Four Kinds of Adoption

  • Kindred Adoption
  • Foster Care Adoption
  • Infant Adoption
  • Assisted Reproduction

Four Realms of
Adoption Experience

  • Spiritual
  • Intellectual
  • Emotional
  • Physical

Four Stars of

  • Birthparents [ugh on linguistics!]
  • Adoptees
  • Adoptive Parents
  • Relatives and Witnesses

Four Legal/Policy Changes

  • 1. Access to Unaltered Original Birth Certificates, Adoption Files, and Identifying information for all involved in adoption at the time of the adoptee's age of maturity or sooner if all parties agree. And Access to Termination of Parental Rights Documents for those who signed these papers.
  • 2. Prevention of coercive practices that victimize vulnerable expectant mothers - no pre-birth signed documents nor matching of prospective adoptive parents with unborn babies.
  • 3. Legally Binding Open Adoption Agreements.
  • 4. Required identity disclosures for sperm and egg donors so those conceived under such circumstances can one day find their genetic relatives if they wish to do so. This could be handled through use of birth certificates as a legal recognition of birth. Documentation of legal parenthood must be separate from birth in adoption and assisted reproduction.


A Community Oriented Adoption Narrative

Try this for Grade School
(K-12) Students:

Alternate Family Tree Project

It's Adoption Friendly!


Use your printer and your favorite 8.5 x 11 paper

Or Copy the files and use them at your favorite copy shop to make bigger poster size versions.

Four 4 inch Mandalas


One 8 inch Mandala


Or email me and I'll give you directions for making really really big ones. Also, you can take these files and get wild with a fun program like photoshop or (which is different from Paint).


Print it.

Color it in.

And make it your own.

Then share  it!


This site is a work of heart
and a work in progress.
Come back for more soon!